Inkisiçao (Angelheart #3)

J-P (Janne-Pekka) Muikku, from Joensuu, did some compilation-tapes in the early 90s and then started Angelheart (the name because he didn’t want to easily hint at the brutal music – crust/grind/punk/metal – being covered). In an interview he stated that the zine was “all about D.I.Y. related music/thoughts”. He also did some split-zines and the last issue was #12 in ’98, I believe. I might’ve distributed 1 or 2 issues but sometimes things were a bit messy and not always that P.C., though there were occasional decent interviews.

J-P got a Master in History and is “project-manager” for a record-label (Firebox).

Around 1993-94 I got introduced to the Portugese scene. I corresponded with Miguel Crespo (concert-collective Ratazana Productions), Guilherme Charters (also in the collective) lived in Gent (Belgium) for a while, releases of Slime recs (João Pedro) were distributed by Fuse! (the collective distro Joeri, Bruno and me did at some timepoint), I read Nuclear Mosh zine (by Samuel & David Melro), Diogo ‘Tovar’ Carvalho (‘Subcaos’ vocalist; did Recognize No Authority zine) distributed Tilt!, etc.

When ‘Inkisição’ (from Aveiro) played the Vort’n Vis (94-09-17); I got to know them personally and got befriended with both Rui (he distributed DIY tapes & vinyl, and did a zine, Diabo No Corpo) and their new singer Helena ‘Lena’ Paula Burbuleta. We corresponded and later I interviewed her for the Women in HC piece in my zine Tilt!. The others were Miguel (vocals), Rui Maia (drums; Helena’s boyfriend, later husband), Píncaro (guitar; originally bassist) and Sérgio (bass). A while after the latter 2 died in a car-crash (Summer of 1995), Lena, Miguel & Rui formed ‘Intervenzione’.

Inkisicao (Angelheart #3) aInkisicao (Angelheart #3) bInkisicao (Angelheart #3) cInkisicao (Angelheart #3) dInkisicao (Angelheart #3) e94-09-17 Inkisicao Lena & Rui‘Inkisiçao’s Rui & Helena (94-09-17 Vort’n Vis, Ieper, Belgium)

This entry was posted in 1994, Finnish zines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inkisiçao (Angelheart #3)

  1. Janne-Pekka Muikku says:

    I guess you got the first taste of me via Poser Punk, which I did with Sami and Mikko, some 18 issues after Pablo’s No Sanctuary ceased. Angelheart ran it’s course, I think 12 issues. After that I did Sallittu Rappio (in Finnish) and Admissible Decay (in English), more newsletter type print, which was more into metal realm. After that I went to online stuff and the rest is history.

Leave a Reply

